Ads not shown when logged in
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Playing away...

Default Playing away...

What is your favourite place to drink away from your locality?

I am a novice at travelling a distance for beer, but I am up in Whitby once or twice a year. I love the pubs there. My three favourites being the Station, the Endeavour and the Black Horse Vaults. The Black Horse would be top, I believe.

I also enjoy the Elsinore. Beer choice is limited, but I just like the pub.

I popped across to Shrewsbury this Saturday with Mrs Staal. After a 'shopping session' which satisfied her, we spent a pleasant couple of hours in the Armoury, which satisfied me. I was so inspired, I plan a train jaunt over there during my holidays!

Outside Yorkshire and in no particular order:

The Black Country
    Edinburgh
    Liverpool

Shrewsbury is on my to do list.

Wandering, or wondering, or wandering in.

From a most visited perspective it would be Manchester or Edinburgh in the UK. Further afield I've also enjoyed the beer scene in Gent, Vegas and Prague.
    I've just joined Alcoholics Anonymous - I still drink, just under a different name.

Edinburgh and Stafford.

Overseas, I'd say Munich and Dusseldorf.

I travel a fair bit so it's difficult to be objective as I keep finding fantastic new places, so I've based this answer on concentration of decent pubs rather than individual ones. The best "find" this year was in Kent where the Red Lion in Snargate and the Woolpack in Brookland turned out to be so close together.

Close to home - Manchester

In the UK - Derby, Sheffield, York, Nottingham, Edinburgh, Shrewsbury

Further afield - Brussels, Amsterdam, Prague

Much further afield - Vancouver, Seattle, San Francisco, San Diego, Boston

The one thing they've all got in common?

Lots of good pubs and bars, most including several brewpubs.
    Last edited by ROBCamra; 20-07-2010 at 09:13.
    A pub is for life not just for Christmas