Ads not shown when logged in
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Problem adding to existing area

  1. #1
    This Space For Hire sheffield hatter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Sheffield
    Posts
    2,113

    Default Problem adding to existing area

    I can remember reporting this problem a few years back. I have just added a pub that I visited when out cycling yesterday: Keld Lodge Hotel. When adding, I got the message "Keld exists as a village in this location", or some such. However, when it came to adding the pub to Keld area, I got a message saying "This town already has an area with the name Keld. It contains the following pubs: Tan Hill Inn at Tan Hill. If this is the area you meant please click here to add pub to area." The problem is that the "click here" button is greyed out and not clickable. So I can't add the pub to the area.

    I suppose one solution would be to remove Tan Hill Inn from the Keld area (it's several miles away, which may be at the root of the problem), create a "new" Keld area for the Keld Lodge Hotel, and then create a new area for the Tan Hill Inn. Can anyone suggest a better way out of this problem?

    PS After adding another pub at Thwaite, further down the valley, I was able to go back and add this one to Swaledale, but I still want add it to Keld, too!
    Last edited by sheffield hatter; 26-10-2016 at 18:04.
    Come On You Hatters!

  2. #2
    Pub researcher (unpaid) rpadam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the Low Weald
    Posts
    2,257

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sheffield hatter View Post
    I can remember reporting this problem a few years back. I have just added a pub that I visited when out cycling yesterday: Keld Lodge Hotel. When adding, I got the message "Keld exists as a village in this location", or some such. However, when it came to adding the pub to Keld area, I got a message saying "This town already has an area with the name Keld. It contains the following pubs: Tan Hill Inn at Tan Hill. If this is the area you meant please click here to add pub to area." The problem is that the "click here" button is greyed out and not clickable. So I can't add the pub to the area.

    I suppose one solution would be to remove Tan Hill Inn from the Keld area (it's several miles away, which may be at the root of the problem), create a "new" Keld area for the Keld Lodge Hotel, and then create a new area for the Tan Hill Inn. Can anyone suggest a better way out of this problem?

    PS After adding another pub at Thwaite, further down the valley, I was able to go back and add this one to Swaledale, but I still want add it to Keld, too!
    I think the problem is the distance from the other pub(s) already in the area, with perhaps 5 km being the cut-off.

    Anyway, taking the Tan Hill Inn out of 'Keld' did allow the Keld Lodge Hotel to be added but that then leaves the second pub with the same problem (which I solved by adding 'Tan Hill' as a new area).

  3. #3
    This Space For Hire sheffield hatter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Sheffield
    Posts
    2,113

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rpadam View Post
    I think the problem is the distance from the other pub(s) already in the area, with perhaps 5 km being the cut-off.
    Yes, that's what's causing it, all right. But there's a button to press, which is obviously meant to solve this issue. If the button is greyed out, there is presumably something wrong with the code, and that should be fixable.


    Quote Originally Posted by rpadam View Post
    Anyway, taking the Tan Hill Inn out of 'Keld' did allow the Keld Lodge Hotel to be added but that then leaves the second pub with the same problem (which I solved by adding 'Tan Hill' as a new area).
    I thought of that, too. However, having Tan Hill as "area served" doesn't really work for me, as the pub is the only building at Tan Hill! I suppose it's more accurate than having it "serve" Keld, which is miles away down in the valley.
    Come On You Hatters!

Similar Threads

  1. Problems adding an area to a pub
    By Quinno in forum Chit Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-09-2016, 19:42
  2. Adding Pubs
    By Rex_Rattus in forum Chit Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-05-2012, 17:38
  3. Adding a Pub
    By JoeDerr in forum That Doesn't Go There!
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23-09-2010, 01:03

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •