Ads not shown when logged in
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Google Maps

  1. #1
    I'll stay on me own
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    1,696

    Default Google Maps

    I have been reviewing pubs in Yeadon this afternoon and also looking at Google maps through this site to put the pubs visited in the right location.

    On my latest pub done i got a message from Google saying maps not available has web site or my self have exceeded the amount of time looking at these.

    Has anybody on this this site ever seen this before.
    We are all equal,but some are more equal than others

  2. #2
    This Space For Hire Wild Rover's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    BLACKBURN
    Posts
    916

    Default

    Yes Al i have been getting exactly the same

  3. #3
    This Space For Hire
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    968

    Default

    I got that the other day navigated to another pub opened maps again and didn't get a problem. I would say a quirk.

    Hmm Just got it again looking at pubs in Portsmouth to do tomorrow night.
    Last edited by bcfczuluarmy; 15-12-2014 at 00:06.

  4. #4
    This Space For Hire AlanH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Ruabon, Wrexham
    Posts
    835

    Default

    I have just had the same "Google traffic limit exceeded" but also managed to carry on when I moved to another area.

    Also, the pubs have been very slow to populate the interactive maps, sometimes showing just the start pub only for half a minute or more. Has anyone else seen this? I was blaming my computer but it could be more "traffic problems".

  5. #5
    This Space For Hire Rex_Rattus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New Malden
    Posts
    1,184

    Default

    I haven't suffered slow responses, but when I've been dragging the interactive map around it's gone blank a few times except for a message saying something like "daily quota of maps exceeded - if you're the owner of this site go to.." followed by an apparent link to "documentation". I've not clicked on the link of course. I've then gone back to the pub page, and clicked again on maps and all then seems to be OK.

  6. #6
    Teetotal
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Sevenoaks
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I get this a lot of the time, but for me it tends to be because of poor phone coverage. I use 3G when I'm not at home to surf the web and use up Google maps, and it tends to lag if I've got poor reception....Which I have a lot of the time on Vodafone, they're 3G coverage is not that great or fast..Not sure if you could be having the same issues as me.

  7. #7
    Humble Wordsmith ETA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Normally Somerset, sometimes on a yacht.
    Posts
    1,111

    Default

    I got that yesterday too. But when I tried again 10 minutes later, it was fine, and it hasn't happened again since. I'm running Firefox in Linux Mint 15 though I doubt the client OS is the issue.
    Last edited by ETA; 16-12-2014 at 12:25.

  8. #8
    Inndigestion Strongers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South Downs
    Posts
    1,761

    Default

    I've had this problem with IE and Firefox. I'm not sure what the cause is but a press of F5 has sorted it out.
    WE ARE THE BREADMEN - UP THE BEES

  9. #9
    We're not really 'ere! trainman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    down 'ere, from oop there
    Posts
    1,876

    Default

    The new vesrion of google maps seems, to me, to be pants.
    Does anyone know how to print what's on the screen after zooming to cover the area & definition required? I don't seem to be able to manage it in google maps or bing maps. (and 'classic' google maps seem to have been discontinued - a big shooting in on'e own foot here, methinks).

    And it's for Derby tomorrow...
    Cheers, j

  10. #10
    Old & Bitter oldboots's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    God's Own County
    Posts
    4,264

    Default

    On Firefox I just go to File ->Print and it's there ready to go after changing orientation to landscape.

    Chrome does pretty much the same but not quite as good (clicking on the three lines in corner gives the drop down menu to access print), it doesn't work at all on IE8. I'll try IE10 or 11 later as that's on another machine.

    If all else fails it'll be a screen shot job.

    Tell us, now, how and when
    We may find the bravest men?
    A sure test, an easy test:
    Those that drink beer are the best

Similar Threads

  1. Pub maps
    By Maldenman in forum Requests
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 29-11-2013, 19:36
  2. google maps and pub reviews
    By Strongers in forum Chit Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17-07-2011, 09:04
  3. Google maps
    By trainman in forum Chit Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-11-2010, 09:58

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •