PDA

View Full Version : Pub closures in 2011

dpcoverdale
07-03-2011, 12:49
I am a journalist and am writing a feature this week on pub closures. The aim is to highlight the difficulties pub owners face ahead of the budget later this month. We may also do an online petition against the potential rise of beer duty.

As part of the feature, I am looking to find the names of pubs that have had to close so far this year.

I would really appreciate anyone writing here if they know of pubs that have had to shut down. If you know of the date they shut and their address that would be great as well.

Look forward to hearing from you all.

RogerB
07-03-2011, 18:27
I don't know of any that have actually shut this year yet but the Oakdale Arms in Haringey (283 Hermitage Road, N4 1NP), will be closing its doors for good on March 19th. I will be paying it a visit for the first and no doubt last time on Wednesday before the Spurs v Milan match!

dpcoverdale
07-03-2011, 18:31
Hi Roger. Do you know why it's closing and what's going to happen to it?

RogerB
07-03-2011, 18:48
Not sure why but it has had a good reputation for its beers in recent years and is widelay regarded as one of the better, if not the best, pub in the area. I understand it will be demolished and flats built in its place. Mr Real Estate wins again! :mad:

Oggwyn Trench
07-03-2011, 19:51
These 3 have all closed in the last month or so ,http://www.pubsgalore.co.uk/pubs/32697/ , http://www.pubsgalore.co.uk/pubs/32713/ , http://www.pubsgalore.co.uk/pubs/67942/ all in the same small area of Telford , the Cross Keys and Summerhouse were both pretty rough places .

This one is closed to http://www.pubsgalore.co.uk/pubs/32694/ probally due to the position in town and the Landlords refusal to sell Real Ale when all but one(an irish bar) of the other pubs in town sell it

This one closed down http://www.pubsgalore.co.uk/pubs/32693/ when the landlord did a runner just after new year but is now reopen