PDA

View Full Version : Help planning a pub crawl.

Delboy20
03-04-2023, 19:57
Hi all,
I may not make sense with this but bear with me. Is there a way with google maps to add a selection of points on a map and then try to plan the logistics later?
Planning a few London pubs but the final list will come down to a travel plan really as there are so many I want to do!
I know a couple of you have planned routes for the meet ups but i am not that good with this sort of thing!
Any tips would be welcome.
Cheers,
Del.

ETA
04-04-2023, 07:14
There is. You can create an overlay using the My Maps function and add custom points with notes, shaded areas and measure distances - see attached a selection of mine which I use for exactly that purpose.

I'm guessing Dave will know a better way, though.

london calling
04-04-2023, 18:49
Post a list of pubs you fancy and I am sure we can help you work out a plan.where you are starting from and what day of the week would help.Then you could do a map.

sheffield hatter
04-04-2023, 23:22
Is there a way with google maps to add a selection of points on a map and then try to plan the logistics later?

What I generally do is enter all the postcodes in Google maps, using the "add destination" option, and create a route using the "walking" option. You can then drag the points into a different order on the list until the route looks as efficient as it can be. (There are different ways of doing this on a PC and on a phone, but the result is the same - you move a point so that it's higher up the list than it was before. Think of Villa going above Chelsea, for instance. :))

At this stage I would check on the map that the postcode points are close enough to the actual pub! The other thing to look out for is that there is a maximum number of points, so if you're planning a longish crawl you might have to split it into two halves.