PDA

View Full Version : Bring on the Beer - Why so serious?

Blog Tracker
20-11-2020, 13:21
Visit The Bring on the Beer site (https://bringotbeer.blogspot.com/2020/11/why-so-serious.html)

I don't for one second claim to represent a marginalised voice in beer enthusiasm, or even a unique opinion. I am white, approaching middle-age, and work in an office job. I don't even have a beard. But I take my own approach to this interest pretty seriously - as anyone who's seen my sad personalised framed beer photos will know - and as such I like to keep it as honest to my own personal motives as possible.
If you're reading this blog, or following my Twitter account, I'll always be grateful and thankful for that. But I hope you're under no illusions that I offer little except ill-thought out, hideously biased feelings and opinions based on my own narrow limited experiences. I understand if that's not for you.
I write this blog because I enjoy writing, and I have a Journalism degree, so I feel like I am using it in some way that justifies the years of living deep inside an overdraft that it took to get it.
My approach to beer has always been purely as a drinker/consumer. I have little interest in the vagaries and subtleties of beer manufacturing. That's like taking apart a joke to find out what makes it funny. Like dissecting a frog, no-one is really interested and the frog dies. I like beer, I like how it tastes, how it makes me feel. That's it.
This is why I could never be a judge or a taster. One, my palate is not gifted enough, and two I *really* don't care to that extent. If I like it, great; if I don't, I don't. I'll share what I drink on Twitter, I'll even give brief liner notes on what I feel about it, but no more. No full-blown reviews, no extolling the virtues of mouthfeel.