PDA

View Full Version : Historical Pubs

ETA
12-04-2020, 12:41
Is this a good time to improve our record of historical pubs, partly for the academic completeness, and partly to help other potential pub-goers when the restrictions are lifted? Several time I've heard of a pub which 'used to be there' but isn't listed in PuG, and when I've gone to explore, I've found that either it's open and we've just missed it somehow, or it's closed and the building has been repurposed. Would photographing and adding these be a constructive use of our daily exercise allowance?

sheffield hatter
12-04-2020, 12:49
Would photographing and adding these be a constructive use of our daily exercise allowance?

As a photographer, I'm all in favour of this approach. You probably won't get much support from regulars on this forum, as most of them are reviewers rather than snappers. One thing to avoid, though, is photographing a place where a pub used to be, but in fact the pub building has been replaced with another building altogether. There needs to be something recognisably publike before you get your camera out.

Mobyduck
12-04-2020, 13:36
As a photographer, I'm all in favour of this approach. You probably won't get much support from regulars on this forum, as most of them are reviewers rather than snappers. One thing to avoid, though, is photographing a place where a pub used to be, but in fact the pub building has been replaced with another building altogether. There needs to be something recognisably publike before you get your camera out.

Not against the idea , but is there any point in adding a previously unlisted former pub that is most likely never to be a pub again even though the building's the same ? Is this pubs past and present galore? Honest question.

ETA
12-04-2020, 13:53