PDA

View Full Version : The Pub Curmudgeon - The joys of the countryside



Blog Tracker
12-11-2018, 13:30
Visit The Pub Curmudgeon site (http://pubcurmudgeon.blogspot.com/2018/11/the-joys-of-countryside.html)



https://2.bp.blogspot.com/-cbmIsEBg8i0/W-l9ehEtlaI/AAAAAAAAGb0/eQTbi45vCXY3oQqQ4dgC3MjDOO0rI219ACLcBGAs/s320/barkley_mow_kirk_ireton.jpg (https://2.bp.blogspot.com/-cbmIsEBg8i0/W-l9ehEtlaI/AAAAAAAAGb0/eQTbi45vCXY3oQqQ4dgC3MjDOO0rI219ACLcBGAs/s1600/barkley_mow_kirk_ireton.jpg)
I was recently looking at one or two lists people had compiled of their favourite pubs, or ones that had impressed them recently. One thing that struck me was how the pubs chosen were exclusively in urban locations. Now, people can only report on what they’ve personally experienced, and that tends to be where the action is in terms of beer innovation. However, it is a somewhat partial view of the overall pub landscape, so to redress the balance here’s a list of fifteen pubs in rural or village locations that I have enjoyed visiting in the current century. I’m sure you will have your own suggestions to add to the list.

Anchor, High Offley, Staffordshire (https://whatpub.com/pubs/STA/1725/anchor-inn-high-offley)

Barley Mow, Kirk Ireton, Derbyshire (https://whatpub.com/pubs/DER/403/barley-mow-inn-kirk-ireton) (pictured)

Bird in Hand, Mobberley, Cheshire (https://whatpub.com/pubs/MAC/164/bird-in-hand-mobberley)

Black Horse, Clapton-in-Gordano, Somerset (https://whatpub.com/pubs/AVN/387/black-horse-clapton-in-gordano)

Boat, Penallt, Monmouthshire (https://whatpub.com/pubs/NEW/426/boat-inn-penallt)

Cock, Broom, Bedfordshire (https://whatpub.com/pubs/BEE/122/cock-broom)

Cresselly Arms, Cresswell Quay, Pembrokeshire (https://whatpub.com/pubs/PEM/279/cresselly-arms-cresswell-quay)

Crown, Churchill, Somerset (https://whatpub.com/pubs/AVN/385/crown-inn-churchill)

Harrington Arms, Gawsworth, Cheshire (https://whatpub.com/pubs/MAC/65/harrington-arms-gawsworth)

Holly Bush, Makeney, Derbyshire (https://whatpub.com/pubs/AMV/411/holly-bush-makeney)

Old House, Ightham Common, Kent (https://whatpub.com/pubs/GRA/0144/old-house-ightham-common)

Queen’s Head, Newton, Cambridgshire (https://whatpub.com/pubs/CAM/1/queens-head-newton)

Red Lion, Dayhills, Staffordshire (https://whatpub.com/pubs/STA/2794/red-lion-dayhills)

Traveller’s Rest, Alpraham, Cheshire (https://whatpub.com/pubs/CHS/561/travellers-rest-alpraham)
Yew Tree, Cauldon, Staffordshire (https://whatpub.com/pubs/POT/1952/yew-tree-inn-cauldon)



More... (http://pubcurmudgeon.blogspot.com/2018/11/the-joys-of-countryside.html)