PDA

View Full Version : Boak and Bailey's Beer Blog - The Best of B&B in 2015



Blog Tracker
30-12-2015, 10:15
Visit the Boak and Bailey's Beer Blog site (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/12/the-best-of-bb-in-2015-2/)

These end-of-year round-up posts are a combination of therapy, house-keeping and*‘ICYMI’ trumpet blowing.ICYMI, as you probably know, stands for ‘in case you missed it’ and we’ve previously suggested is synonymous with BIDGEAFT — Because It Didn’t Get Enough Attention First Time.
http://i1.wp.com/boakandbailey.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/trumpet.jpg?resize=474%2C327The Best, Sez Us…These are the posts from 2015 of which we’re proudest, whether anyone read them or not.
→*Proper Job IPA: Cornwall via Oregon (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/01/proper-job-ipa-cornwall-via-oregon/) —*How St Austell’s Roger Ryman was inspired by an American beer to brew one of the UK’s*earliest strong, citrusy IPAs. (15 January.)
→*Williams Bros: Craft Before It Was a Thing (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/02/williams-bros-craft-before-it-was-a-thing/)*— A story omitted from*Brew Britannia given the standalone treatment for a round of #BeeryLongreads. (28 February.)
→*Bona Fide Travellers: Fibbing for a Pint (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/03/bona-fide-travellers-fibbing-for-a-pint/) — A look at an oddity of licensing law which saw determined drinkers wandering the country to earn the right to drink outside licensed hours. (24 March)
→*Types of UK Brewery* (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/04/types-of-uk-brewery/)— One of our occasional attempts to categorise, this time with a big chart. (24 April.)
http://i1.wp.com/boakandbailey.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/taxonomy_attempt_v1.png?resize=300%2C213
→*When the Sober Are Strange (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/05/when-the-sober-are-strange/) — Reflections on merry social drunkenness at Padstow’s May Day celebrations: ‘For summer is acome unto day…’*(7 May.)
→*The Good, The Bad & The Murky (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/07/the-good-the-bad-the-murky-brew-britannia-one-year-on/) — The big one — 12,000 words picking up where*Brew Britannia*left off, covering the rise of canned craft beer, the Bermondsey Beer Mile and other such developments. (2 July.)
→ In REGION You Must Try BEER (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/08/in-region-you-must-try-beer/)— What, if any, are the regional beer specialities of the UK? Mild in the Midlands, porter in London and Very Pale Ale in Manchester, perhaps? (26 August.)
→*The Quiet One (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/12/beerylongreads2015-the-quiet-one/)*— Just out, a profile of Peter Elvin, a brewer who is decidedly not a rock star.
http://i2.wp.com/boakandbailey.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/brain.png?resize=474%2C398SOURCE: Wikimedia Commons (edited).…and Sez YouThese are, according to Google Analytics, our*most-read posts published in the last year. You will note that BrewDog, CAMRA and writing about blogging*continue to generate considerably more interest than most of the stuff in our (ahem…) curated list above.


The Good, The Bad & The Murky
How to Beer Blog (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/03/how-to-beer-blog/)*
Beer Writing Clichés — Call for Submissions (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/06/beer-writing-cliches-call-for-submissions/)
So Who Are the Usual Suspects? (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/02/so-who-are-the-usual-suspects/)
A Disruptive Influence (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/03/a-disruptive-influence/)
Williams Bros: Craft Before it Was a Thing
CAMRA and Lager: Euro-Fizz or Pure Beer? (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/05/camra-and-lager-eurofizz-or-pure-beer/)
Choosing a Lager in the UK (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/03/choosing-a-lager-in-the-uk/)
The Great Craft Beer Swindle (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/01/great-craft-beer-swindle/)
Back of a Beer Mat — Free e-book! (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/04/back-of-a-beer-mat-a-free-e-book/)
Proporval (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/01/proporval/)
The Story Behind That Photograph (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/06/the-story-behind-that-photograph/)
What If… BrewDog & Greene King? (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/03/what-if-brewdog-greene-king/)
What’s the History of Bar Snacks? (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/01/whats-history-bar-snacks/)
It’s Meant to be Like That: 2015 Edition (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/08/its-meant-to-be-like-that-2015-edition/)

All in all, 2015 was pretty productive — about 250 ‘proper’ posts amounting to something like 150,000 words — and generally good fun, too. Here’s hoping 2016, with a few tweaks and a bit of spring cleaning on our part, offers more of the same.
The Best of B&B in 2015 (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/12/the-best-of-bb-in-2015-2/) from Boak & Bailey's Beer Blog - Over-thinking beer, pubs and the meaning of craft since 2007 (http://boakandbailey.com)


More... (http://boakandbailey.com/2015/12/the-best-of-bb-in-2015-2/)