PDA

View Full Version : Northern Beer Blog - Pubpaper 822 – (Nearly) Five years of Tales from the Taproom

Blog Tracker
26-08-2015, 19:55
Visit the Northern Beer Blog site (http://www.seanliquorish.co.uk/blog/?p=2009)

Give or take a month, I’ve been writing this column for 5 years now. **The pub scene in Calderdale has had its peaks and troughs, some following the economy, some due to acts of god and sometimes a town has just popped its head above the Calderdale crowd. *The pubs I was regularly visiting 5 years ago are very different to those who get my money today. **A number of these changes have been because I’ve got to know the people who run a certain pub and come to be friendly with them, but with many it is simply drifting away as new premises open, became more real ale oriented or improved their beer offerings. **In some cases over the years, a pub has drifted in-out-in of favour and in one case in-out-in-out of favour.
Back in 2010, I regularly visited the bars at the bottom of Halifax, The Three Pigeons and The Pump Room. *In Hipperholme the Cock of the North was a regular venue whilst in Brighouse I was a regular guest at the pub Mark Feasey and Jason Fieldhouse were involved in operating back then. *The Big Six was also a regular haunt up at Manor Heath and in Sowerby Bridge it was usually The Works getting my money. *Hebden Bridge generally saw the White Lion and Stubbing Wharf getting my beer money.