PDA

View Full Version : Top 100 UK Bars list? What do you think

Claireeee
13-08-2014, 11:02
heyy guys, this is my first post on the forum and I'm really excited. I love my drinks as I'm sure you all do and I just came across this list on facebook

http://blog.chillisauce.co.uk/the-top-100-uk-bars-chillisauce/

The Manchester ones are so spot on but I'm not sure about blackpool. What do you guys think?

Be niceee please, I'm a newbie.
xxx

Quinno
13-08-2014, 12:46
Welcome :)

I'm not a professional Northerner but I can run the ruler over:

Reading - hmmm. Bed Bar has now closed as of last week. Mix is nice enough if you're a cocktail aficionado I guess (I'm not!) so fair enough. The AD is of course a bit legendary as a nightspot but it ain't a bar. A mixed bag, I'd say adding the Alehouse or the Nags Head would have been better.

Knowing Bristol quite well, I'd say the choices there are a bit closer to what I'd call essential. Seven Stars and Grain Barge are pretty unarguable.

Bucking Fastard
13-08-2014, 13:41
Welcome to the forum and glad to hear that you love drinking,most of us here fall into that category !:drinkup:

It's an interesting list and their selections in York would suit a lot of folk here ,several well know real ale venues.However the Cambridge selection may include fine bars,but does miss out on some wonderful pubs in that city .

I have to admit that given my age,I normally head for a pub rather than a bar,but I have been in some trendy establishments in the search for outstanding real ale,and even sometimes to give craft keg beer a go.

If you are more of a "bar" person,you may well end up being the only reviewer of these establishments,which would be a great help for this site.It's a bit of a blind spot for many of us.

Aqualung
13-08-2014, 14:29
Welcome!
I don't normally visit places that describe thenselves as "bars" although most Spoons are probably better described as bars rather than pubs.