PDA

View Full Version : a swift one - Plans for a Bradford Brewpub unveiled

Blog Tracker
16-07-2014, 06:51
Visit the a swift one site (http://www.aswiftone.com/2014/07/plans-for-bradford-brewpub-unveiled.html)

There are certain cities that one connects with beer, and Bradford is not one of them. In fact, it is a city that I rarely visit nowadays, and certainly not for its pubs or ale. I did my degree there, for 4 years, and spent the last 8 years of my working life there, and I must admit, I do not like the place. (To put this in perspective, I know some very proud Bradfordians who love the place to bits - but even they struggle to name a decent pub in the city centre).

There are a couple or so decent pubs but stupid geography has put the 'Fighting Cock' and the 'Corn Dolly' diametrically across the city centre with about a half hour walk between. The new(est) kid on the block is the 'Sparrow' but even that is up at the top of the centre, making a triangle and after walking to each one you have certainly earned your pint !

Anyway enough of this. Today I have received an interesting e mail from BFH - he who knows all - about a proposal for a Bradford City Brewpub. The Bradford Brewery will be the first brewery in the city centre since 1955, almost 60 years, and will be housed in a 4 storey old mill building just off Westgate, which is a short walk from the city centre. It is proposed that the brewery and pub will be on different levels, but as seems to be the norm nowadays will have a viewing area, so the drinkers can view the workers !