PDA

View Full Version : Northern Beer Blog - Pubpaper 726 – 3 years and the same old topics remain

Blog Tracker
15-09-2013, 20:22
Visit the Northern Beer Blog site (http://www.seanliquorish.co.uk/blog/?p=1416)

Looking at the article history on my computer I realised I have been writing for PubPaper for over three years now on a regular basis. *What surprises me is how many of the same topics I was writing about back then are still in the news now. **The debate over craft beer and its definition, the poor business practices of the pub companies, good customer service, the continued decimation of the countries pub stock are all as relevant today as they were 115,000 words ago.
The battle within CAMRA between the traditionalists and the modernisers who want to start to embrace the craft beer revolution despite the keg distribution method still goes on at the yearly AGM, although they do not actively speak out against it in public now as they did, preferring to just not mention it at all. **The big breweries are still producing a dearth of generic lagers and beers, trying to jump on the craft beer bandwagon with one or two products hoping the perception of quality will rub off.
The craft beer bandwagon is getting bigger and bigger and cannot be ignored, the enfant terrible of the sector Brewdog are growing rapidly with their third share release moving towards its £4 million target. *They now have thirteen outlets across the UK plus one in Sweden, since 2010 they have increased their workforce by a factor of 4 and moved into their new large capacity plant just outside Aberdeen.