PDA

View Full Version : Northern Beer Blog - Pubpaper 676 – Different Times of Life, Different Reasons to Dr

Blog Tracker
22-09-2012, 10:31
Visit the Northern Beer Blog site (http://www.seanliquorish.co.uk/blog/?p=1027)

At different times in my life I’ve drank beer for different reasons. *As a teenager of non drinking age it was something you did to help fill an evening when you could not get served at your local. *When you turned 18 (or looked old enough to be served in a pub) the Friday and Saturday nights out with friends became a weekly ritual and if you didn’t have a hangover the following morning it was a disappointment. *My first watering hole was the Bricklayers Arms in Leicester, where I originate from and the drink of choice was Everards Tiger, however at my local it was Banks’s Mild. *The first I am happy to drink still today, the second I wonder what I saw in it.
Once you went to university it defined the pattern of your social week. *When I studied at Coventry, Monday was £1 a pint of Tetley at the Rock Night at the Colin Campbell, Wednesday night was Rock Night at Mr Gees, Thursday was the pub quiz at the Admiral Coddrington (followed by Pork, Stuffing & Apple Sauce Roll with Roast Potatoes from the nearby takeaway, a combination which I have yet to better at the end of the night). *Alcohol was the lubricant to a lot of your social interactions from the lunchtime pint to university societies to the impromptu parties at peoples houses. *Drinking was for drinking’s sake a lot of the time, for example on the £1 a pint Tetleys at the Campbell, we had the 10 pint challenge, to get 10 tankards each on the table, if one was collected you had to “replace” it. *I don’t deny it was fun, but probably contributed to my getting a desmond (2:2, named after Desmond Tutu), otherwise known as a good “drinking” degree.