PDA

View Full Version : Anyone for Carshalton ?

Bucking Fastard
10-04-2012, 11:59
Having missed last year's tour of Leytonstone :( and the recent PuG trip to Norwich :(:( I noticed from the Leytonstone thread there was a suggestion that Carshalton would be a good venue for a crawl ,with a few people expressing interest .

I am often down in that neck of the woods visiting ancient rellies,so have a guarenteed bed for the night as long as I can give a bit of advanced notice.Any night midweek would suit me,I could also make a late afternoon start once gardening and shopping commitments have been completed.

I have little knowledge of the Carshalton pub scene but always happy to strike out somewhere new,

Any other takers ?

Rex_Rattus
10-04-2012, 12:04
I might be up for that one, depending on dates of course. The Hope's the star of the show in my opinion, but there are several other worthy contenders.

Pubsignman
10-04-2012, 14:20
Sounds like a good idea to me. Carshalton is a good place for a crawl - ten pubs, all serving real ale in easy walking distance of each other.
As Rex says, the Hope is most certainly the star of the show, but the Sun and Racehorse also tend to have interesting guests, whilst Fuller's (Railway Tavern), Young's (Greyhound Hotel) and Sheps (Windsor Castle) are all represented.

The Hope hold regular beer festivals, which in my experience tend to be excellent - maybe it's worth trying to coincide our visit with one of them?

Bucking Fastard
10-04-2012, 15:04
The Hope hold regular beer festivals, which in my experience tend to be excellent - maybe it's worth trying to coincide our visit with one of them?

That sounds promising ,any idea when the next one is ?

an_ecumenical_matter
10-04-2012, 15:14
That sounds promising ,any idea when the next one is ?

http://hopecarshalton.co.uk/html/events_2012.html

I work at Chippenham these days so a jolly to the smoke is closer than before so I'd be up for it date permitting.

Bucking Fastard